Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
Scroll to top



Les 30 Ans du Label ZTT



• Featuring hit singles, remixes, classic 7” and 12” cuts, promo videos,
TV performances, experiments and overtures

To mark the 30th anniversary of one of the most influential, innovative and successful record labels around, ZTT/Salvo Music are pleased to announce three new releases for 2014: ‘Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition)’, ‘The Organisation of Pop (London Edition)’ and ‘The Art of the 12”, Volume Three’, all set for release 10th February.
Expansively highlighting the breadth and depth of ZTT’s collective vision, these stylishly packaged releases features cuts and hit singles from Frankie Goes To Hollywood, Grace Jones, Propaganda, Art of Noise, Seal, 808 State, Shane MacGowan, Kirsty MacColl, Shades of Rhythm, Adamski, Lisa Stansfield, Tom Jones, David Jordan and much much more plus remixes, rare and classic 7” and 12” versions, promo videos, TV performances and classic ZTT experiments and overtures plus new words from Paul Morley.
Dreamt up by record producer Trevor Horn, his wife and manager Jill Sinclair and NME journalist Paul Morley, ZTT was founded in 1983 with their ethos to: deliver a “surreal variety show…a European cabaret…a dream department producing perfect pop.”
With a style and a sound that no other record label has managed to equal, ZTT has produced 45 UK Top 40 hits from the likes of Art of Noise, Propaganda, Frankie Goes To Hollywood, 808 State, Seal and more. Indeed, ZTT somehow manages to not only discover brand new talent but turn some of its artists into icons by the release of their second single.
In the early days, the label helped shape the very structure and format of pop music (its 12” remixes getting chart positions of their own and its T-shirts becoming the uniform of the 80s) and turned every aspect of the business of pop into entertainment. It also engendered a fierce spirit of experimentation, from classical minimalism to cut/copy/paste pop and has always maintained a distinctly European outlook – this is the Future Sound of Manchester, Reykjavic, Berlin, Liverpool, Dublin, Brussels and the heart of ZTT, Sarm West studios in London.
‘Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition)’ brings together – for the first time ever – Frankie Goes To Hollywood’s greatest singles, remixes, videos and TV appearances. Noise-shots from the ‘Welcome To the Pleasuredome’ and ‘Liverpool’ albums, and rare and unreleased footage from Top Of The Pops, ORS 84* and the Zang Tuum Tum archives. The 24-page booklet also features a new essay from Paul Morley.
‘The Organisation of Pop (London Edition)’ is a two-disc, 38-track anthology of the first 30 years of Zang Tuum Tumb. Disc One features 19 hit singles from 1983 to the present day while Disc Two, The Disorganisation of Pop, takes a tour of ZTT’s archive of experiments, overtures, remixes and special projects. Paul Morley writes about ZTT’s reorganisation of pop in the accompanying 24-page booklet.
‘The Art of the 12”, Volume Three’ features rare and classic 12” remixes by the godfathers of electronic and pop, threaded together by their off-shoot projects – and another 80s obsession – TV, film and ad themes, from and inspired by The Tube, The Word, Network 7, A Clockwork Orange, Moonlighting, Escape From New York and the golden era of MTV.
*aka ‘The Oxford Road Show’



• Two Tribes (introduced via the piano of Anne Dudley)
• The Power of Love
• Relax (the last seven inches)
• Two Tribes (we don’t want to die)
• War!
• Welcome to the Pleasuredome (a remade world)
• Ferry Cross The Mersey (and here I’ll stay)
• Rage Hard
• Watching the Wildlife
• Born to Run (live on The Tube)
• Warriors of the Wasteland (attack) seven inch
• Kill the Pain
• Maximum Joy
• Two Tribes (annihilation) twelve inch
• Relax (New York) twelve inch
• The Power of Love (…best listened to by lovers)


• Relax (promo video)
• Relax (live version) (promo video)
• Relax (laser version) (promo video)
• Two Tribes (promo video)
• Two Tribes (video destructo) (promo video)
• The Power of Love (promo video)
• The Power of Love (version 2) (promo video)
• Welcome to the Pleasuredome (an alternative to reality) (promo video)
• Welcome to the Pleasuredome (the escape act) (promo video)
• Rage Hard (promo video)
• Warriors of the Wasteland (promo video)
• Watching the Wildlife (promo video)
• Relax (5/1/84) (Top Of The Pops)
• Two Tribes (9/8/84) (Top Of The Pops)
• Welcome to the Pleasuredome (28/3/85) (Top Of The Pops)
• Rage Hard (4/9/86) (Top Of The Pops)
• Two Tribes (25/12/84) (Top Of The Pops)
• The Power of Love (25/12/84) (Top Of The Pops)
• Relax (25/12/84) (Top Of The Pops)
• Wish (The Lads Were Here) (The Oxford Road Show)
• War! (The Oxford Road Show)
• “Relax – No.1 and Guiltless” version 1 (Commercial)
• “Relax – No.1 and Guiltless” version 2 (Commercial)
• “The Power of Love – Win Hearts and Minds” (Commercial)
• “Welcome to the Pleasuredome – The Event of the Decade” (Commercial)
• “and meanwhile… backstage”


CD1 (The Action Series)

• Grace Jones ‘Slave To The Rhythm’
• Seal ‘Crazy’
• 808 State ‘Pacific 707’
• Frankie Goes To Hollywood ‘Relax’
• Art Of Noise ‘Close (to the Edit)’
• Propaganda ‘Duel’
• Seal ‘Kiss From A Rose’
• Frankie Goes To Hollywood ‘The Power Of Love’
• Tom Jones ‘If I Only Knew’
• Shades Of Rhythm ‘Extacy’
• MC Tunes vs. 808 State ‘The Only Rhyme That Bites’
• Propaganda ‘Dr Mabuse’
• 808 State ‘In Yer Face’
• Frankie Goes To Hollywood ‘Two Tribes’
• David Jordan ‘Sun Goes Down’
• Shane MacGowan & Sinéad O’Connor ‘Haunted’
• Kirsty MacColl ‘Angel’ (Piano Version)
• Claudia Brücken ‘Thank You’
• Art of Noise ‘Moments In Love’

CD2 (The Incidental Series)

• Act ‘Snobbery & Decay’
• Instinct ‘Sleepwalking’ (7” Version)
• Anne Pigalle ‘Hé Stranger’
• Das Psych-oh! Rangers ‘Homage To The Blessed’
• Nasty Rox Inc. ‘9th Wonder’ (7” Version)
• Hoodlum Priest ‘Caucasian’
• Sun Electric ‘I Feel Free’
• Mantra ‘Intensify (I Love You)’
• Sexus ‘How Do You Kiss?’
• All Saints ‘Silver Shadow’ (7” Version)
• Leilani ‘I Am The Greatest’ (II)
• Public Demand ‘Invisible’ (Trevor Horn’s Invisible 7”)
• Lee Griffiths ‘Sign Of The Times’
• Lisa Stansfield ‘The Moment’
• Art Of Noise ‘Overture From The Seduction Of Claude Debussy’
• Adamski’s Thing ‘Piccadilly Circus’
• Aurora ‘Craving’ (7” Mix)
• Glenn Gregory & Claudia Brücken ‘When Your Heart Runs Out Of Time’ (2012 Version)
• Andrew Poppy ‘The Amusement’ (7” Edit)



• Star Cycle – a soundtrack from The Tube (Jeff Beck via Art of Noise)
• Love Missile F1-11 (Video Trailer Mix) (Sigue Sigue Sputnik)
• Love Missile F1-11 (Video Mix) (Sigue Sigue Sputnik)
• Snobbery & Decay (The Naked Civil…) (Act)
• Fabergé, take one (Art of Noise)
• Escape From New York (Video Mix) (Nasty Rox Inc.)
• Close (To The Edit) (Original Ruff Mix) (Art Of Noise)
• Leave It (Hello, Goodbye Mix) (Yes)
• Complete Machinery (Propaganda)
• Medea Terrorists (Living) (Das Psych-Oh! Rangers
• Fabergé, take two (Art of Noise)
• Language Problems (Extended Version) (Electric Guitars)
• Rage Hard (Vocal/Remix) (Frankie Goes To Hollywood)
• Pop Muzik (Darkside/MM Devo Remix) (M)
• Network 7: opening titles (Steve Levine/Julian Lindsay)


• The Look of Love (Parts I, II, III & IV) (ABC)
• Sleepwalking (Movement Two) (Instinct
• Watching The Wildlife (Movement Two) (Frankie Goes To Hollywood)
• Scottish Writer Of The Year (Pencil and Paper Mix) (Andrew Poppy)
• Mad House (Our House Instrumental Dub Version) (Madness)
• Sign Of The Times (Extended 12” Version) (Belle Stars)
• Docklands (12” Version) (Mint Juleps)
• Something Special (Inversion) (Stephen Duffy & Sandii)
• Jazz (Via Vagabond)
• The Word: opening titles (808 State)
• Moments In Love (Massey Mix Two) (808 State Vs.Art of Noise)
• Network 7 (12” Version) (Steve Levine/Julian Lindsay)
• A Friendly Warning (12” Version) (Act)
• The Tube:opening titles V.2 (Andrew Poppy)